3d Dot Heroes Screenshot

3d Dot Heroes Screenshot

About five years ago I saw Mister Ghrib 4 : Carl’s Memories by synj, which reminded me of a 3D Super Mario Brothers 3.  What if you could take a 3d camera down into the 2d video game world so that you could see each individual cube that made up all the characters and the entire game world?  Wouldn’t that look cool?  Last year I stumbled onto Metroid Cubed, a full voxel port of the original NES Metroid game.  This was great, but it was still not quite what I had imagined.  I wanted the user to be able to zoom the camera in and see the lines between the blocks.
Well, today I did another search and found two great looking games, Fez, and 3D Game Dot Heroes.  3d Game Dot Heroes is exactly what I had in mind of an old-school 2d game brought to 3d. You can see the individual blocks of every Zelda and Final Fantasy parody! Sadly, this is slated for a November release in Japan only! (Curs-ed Language Barrierrrr!!) The other game, Fez, is a really neat concept, a sort of compressed 3d game world. It’s 2d, except while you are changing viewing angles which is when it briefly becomes 3d, then the world is squished back to 2d. This allows some really nifty spacial puzzles, making the game look like huge fun to play. It’s as tough to explain as Narbacular Drop, so check out the trailer.
Inbetween I experimented with making my own voxel Mario (way bigger pain than it was worth), attempted to program my own game in OpenGL (another big pain), and saw some other videos that reminded me of this cool concept. Fez and 3d Dot Heroes are way better!

